email us          


The Beck and Glossberg 

Student Leadership Award

The Student Leadership Award was created in May 2011 in recognition of JoAnn Beck and Joseph B. Glossberg. This award honors Beck and Glossberg's leadership and commitment to Changing Worlds while also cultivating creative student leaders.

Each year, two participants are selected in recognition of his or her demonstrated leadership, personal and artistic growth, creativity and commitment to cultural awareness. Teaching artists nominate students from each After-School Arts and Cultural Connections residency.

Our 2016 Student Leadership Award Recipients

Jalen Simmons 

Pilsen Community Academy, 6th grade

Jalen was born in Stevens Point, WI in 2003. He has two brothers and five sisters, and is the middle child in his family. Jalen has been enrolled in the Graphic Design program for two years. His most memorable artistic experience is when his Graphic Design program created symbols for a t-shirt project.

Through Changing Worlds, Jalen has used visual art to help him develop the skills to effectively manage various emotions. His greatest influence has been his cousin for many reasons, but mostly because he’s a positive example. Jalen says that while leaders might possess many different skills, an effective leader values teamwork, fairness and respect for others. 

In the future, Jalen would like to be either an anthropologist, military personnel or a mixed martial arts specialist. 

Erika Carrillo 

Pilsen Community Academy, 8th grade

Erika was born March 17, 2002 in Chicago, IL. She has lived in Chicago her entire life. She has two sisters and one brother, and is the second youngest of her siblings. Erika has been enrolled in the Hip Hop Dance program for three years. Her most memorable artistic experience was when she performed with her dance team at the Changing Worlds Annual Benefit in 2015. 


The Student Leadership Award was established thanks to the following generous donors:

JoAnn and Richard Beck
Mary and Floyd Fuller
Joseph and Madeline Glossberg
Sheldon and Irene Reitman
Mark Rodriguez